Community-driven media: Log in or Visit
1 |

Persona La Ave – ‘Music Is Pleasure /// No Place In This World’

Last week, Charleston electronic project Persona La Ave released a new album called Music Is Pleasure /// No Place In This World. The album is a bit of a different style than the groovy party music he had been releasing throughout 2019 with his former Isabella Street roommates in local projects Youngster and B-Side. Here Dylan gets back to his solo production style of free-flowing electronica, almost like a stream of consciousness, with just a couple of musical guests featured throughout.

The album opens with “Music Is Pleasure”, which is a collaboration with bassist Kevin Early of The High Divers. That song is a total groove that fits the style of the Isabella recordings. There is a very juicy synth in there, and Kevin’s bass bumps alongside his sensual ad-libbed vocals. It’s just a very fun song and it fits the title “Music Is Pleasure”, at least as I sit here writing this from quarantine on my back porch. Blake Ratliffe of Youngster plays guitar on track 6, “PleasurePrinciple”, another groove, but a bit more ambient.

The album alternates between ambient songs that sound like one continuous wave of relaxing sound, and then more experimental and upbeat songs that sound like a dance hall at 5am on Mars.

Listen to Music Is Pleasure /// No Place In This World by Persona La Ave below.